in the leafy treetops

I swear this is not a reaction to my recent non-commercial-beef eating resolution… which is going quite well, by the way. We recently had some tasty buffalo-loaf (BuffaLoaf?).

I have never been a huge fan of salad.

black howlers love leaves and fruit too!

black howlers love leaves and fruit too!

In middle school when everyone discovered how good buckets of ranch dressing was on 3 iceberg leaves, I stuck to the fries. I did once try to eat some leaves up in my tree fort… they needed some dressing though.

A few weeks ago I had one of those “trendy” salads (spinach, strawberries, feta, pine nuts, and balsamic vinaigrette). News flash, it was really good, despite my disdain for anything trendy (I put off Harry Potter for years just because it was popular — I’m a little neurotic that way).

I’m still not a saladphile, but now at least I have an alternative to caesar.

What is your favorite salad? Please let us know!

About shenpa warrior

"Patience is not learned in safety." View all posts by shenpa warrior

4 responses to “in the leafy treetops

  • Hannah

    Oh yeah! The description of your salad is making my mouth water. Zupas has great salads!! I go there whenever I get out of our little valley. Yum!

  • Derek

    My favorite salads are grain salads–tabbouleh, couscous with artichoke hearts, onion, and avocado, quinoa with balsamic and spinach, etc.

  • Alice

    Mmmm salad…

    I went through a phase where I couldn’t get enough of that salad with the candied walnuts and granny smith apples. I think it had feta too.

    I like any salad with a good balsamic vinagrette on it.

  • George

    The best salads I ever had were found in Pocatello ID at a local place called Buddy’s. If I could get a historic Buddy’s salad I would give up buffalo for a week at least. They used to sell their Italian dressing by the bottle but like all good things it came to an end.

    I know what happened to Buddy’s. I suspect some local Republicans razed it and put in an auto SUV car wash. It was kind of a non-establishment place which also appealed to me. Can I say their meat ball sandwiches were the best too?

Leave a Reply

